Blog Banner

Faletau to don the famous Barbarians jersey

First Team News | 19th May 2023

Taulupe Faletau will don the famous Barbarians jersey for the first time in his career as they take on World XV at Twickenham next week.

The Cardiff number eight made his Test debut against the iconic invitational outfit back in 2011 and has since go on to establish himself as one of the finest players of his generation, with more than 100 caps for Wales and British and Irish Lions.

Two star-studded squads have been announced for the encounter, with former Cardiff outside halves Gareth Anscombe and Rhys Patchell set to face off. 

Faletau is also joined in the squad by fellow Welsh internationals Alun Wyn Jones and Aaron Wainwright, with Wyn Jones and Elliot Dee featuring alongside Patchell in the World XV.

Further stars from the global game involved include Quade Cooper, Semi Radradra, Ngani Laumape, Charles Piutau and Samu Kerevi.

Cardiff and Barbarians have a long-standing history, from memorable fixtures to famous Blue and Blacks representing the Baa Baas. They are amongst only three clubs to be inducted into World Rugby's Hall of Fame. 

Barbarians: Nic Dolly (Leicester Tigers and England), Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Stephan Lewies (Harlequins and South Africa), Steven Luatua (Bristol Bears and New Zealand), Enrique Pieretto (Glasgow Warriors and Argentina), Carlü Sadie (Cell C Sharks), Rob Simmons (London Irish and Australia), Harry Thacker (Bristol Bears), Sione Vailanu (Glasgow Warriors and Tonga), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons and Wales), Alex Waller (Northampton Saints), Tom West (Leicester Tigers), Hiroki Yamamoto (Toshiba Brave Lupus and Japan)

Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys and Wales), Quade Cooper (Hanazono Kintetsu Liners and Australia), Aaron Cruden (Tokyo Sungoliath and New Zealand), Francois Hougaard (Saracens and South Africa), Samu Kerevi (Tokyo Sungoliath and Australia), Tevita Li (Tokyo Sungoliath), Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs and England), Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons and England), Seta Tamanivalu (Toshiba Brave Lupus and Fiji)

World XV: Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Niccolò Cannone (Benetton Rugby and Italy), Elliot Dee (Dragons Rugby and Wales), Allan Dell (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Harry Hockings (Tokyo Sungoliath), Wyn Jones (Scarlets Rugby, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Michele Lamaro (Benetton Rugby and Italy), Viliame Mata (Edinburgh Rugby and Fiji), Sebastian Negri (Benetton Rugby and Italy), Api Ratuniyarawa (London Irish and Fiji), Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs)

Bryn Hall (Shizuoka Blue Revs), Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby and Scotland), Israel Folau (Urayasu D-Rocks and Tonga), Marika Koroibete (Saitama Wild Knights and Australia), Ngani Laumape (Kobelco Kobe Steelers and New Zealand), Sbu Nkosi (Vodacom Bulls and South Africa), Rhys Patchell (Scarlets Rugby and Wales), Nick Phipps (Green Rockets Tokatsu and Australia), Charles Piutau (Bristol Bears and Tonga), Semi Radradra (Bristol Bears and Fiji)