Blog Banner

Eleven Blues named by Welsh Schools U16s

15th April 2015

Cardiff Blues will provide 11 players for Welsh Schools Under-16s when they tackle England in their only international of the season on Sunday at Caerphilly Centre of Sporting Excellence, Ystrad Mynach (kick-off 2.30pm).

Head coach Simon Davies recently took two squads of 25 to the Wellington Festival, each squad playing three development matches against English, French and Scottish opposition.

Davies has now selected Dafydd Smith, Ben Thomas, Ben Jones, Iestyn Harries, Owen Lloyd, Sion Edwards and Alun Lawrence to start the game with England.

Jordan Sakkas, Tom Stacey, Daniel Schwartz and Tom Ireland-Life are named among the replacements.

Davies believes the season is now well-structured at this level, culminating in the international at Ystrad Mynach this weekend.  

He said: “From playing club and school rugby for the first part of the season, the best players went on to compete in the Regional Under-16 Championship before the squads for Wellington were announced.

“The side selected to play England on Sunday is a strong blend of both squads that competed at Wellington. We have talent in our forwards and backs and we have an ability to play attacking rugby from 1 to 15.

“All four of England’s regional teams were strong at Wellington so they have great strength in depth. They will be physical but also have pace behind and will look to spread the ball.

“However, we have a plan to beat England and if we are accurate in what we do and maintain that accuracy, I have every confidence we can win. We will be attacking England at every opportunity and there’s no reason we can’t take a lead from the Under 20s and Under 18s this season and come away with a result.”

Tickets for the game are £5, Under 16s free.

Welsh Schools Under 16 team v England: Sam Dinsdale (Dragons/Bassaleg/Machen); Corey Baldwin (Scarlets/Bro Dinefwr), Dafydd Smith (Blues/Bro Morgannwg/Penarth), Ben Thomas (Blues/Corpus Christi/ St. Peters), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets/Greenhill/Narbeth); Ben Jones (Blues/Afon Taf High/Mountain Ash), Harri Morgan (Ospreys/Langynwwyd/Bryncethin); Rhys Davies (Scarlets/ Haverfordwest/ Neyland), Iestyn Harries (Blues/Y.G. Cymer/Treorchy), Josh Reynolds (Dragons/Caerleon/NHSOB), Rhys Davies (Ospreys/Bishopston/Gowerton), Owen Lloyd (Blues/Stanwell/Penarth) Lewis Ellis-Jones (Scarlets/Penweddig/Aberystwyth), Sion Edwards (Blues/Porth County/Porth), Alun Lawrence (Blues/Y.G. Llanharri/Llantrisant)

Jordan Sakkas (Blues/Radyr/Pentyrch), Tom Stacey (Blues/ Porth County/Porth), Daniel Schwartz (Blues/Cardiff High/Rhiwbina), Tom Ireland-Life (Blues/ Y.G. Gymraeg Glantaf/Rumney), Daniel Davies (Scarlets/ Bro Dinefwr/ Llandeilo), Daniel Babos (Dragons/Croesyceiliog/Pontypool), Keiran Griffiths (Exiles/Milfeld/Havorfordwest), James McCarthy (Dragons/Caerleon/Machen)