Blog Banner

Eight Blues Named in Wales Squad

25th October 2005

Wales Coach Mike Ruddock has named his squad for the Autumn Tests against New Zealand, Fiji, South Africa and Australia.

There are eight Blues players in the squad, including Summer tourists Mike Phillips, Rhys Thomas, Nick Robinson and Chris Czekaj, along with four of the Magnificent 7 Blues players, part of the successful 6 Nations campaign. Namely forwards Martyn Williams, Robert Sidoli, Robin Sowden-Taylor and John Yapp.

Gethin Jenkins and Tom Shanklin were not considered for selection due to injury.

Wales Squad

Backs: L Byrne (Llanelli Scarlets), G Thomas (Toulouse, capt), K Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), C Czekaj (Cardiff Blues), S Williams (Ospreys), M Taylor (Sale Sharks), S Parker (Ospreys), M Watkins (Llanelli Scarlets), C Sweeney (Newport Gwent Dragons), S Jones (Clermont Auvergne), N Robinson (Cardiff Blues), D Peel (Llanelli Scarlets), G Cooper (Newport Gwent Dragons), M Phillips (Cardiff Blues)
Forwards: D Jones (Ospreys), J Yapp (Cardiff Blues), A Jones (Ospreys), R Thomas (Cardiff Blues), M Davies (Gloucester), H Bennett (Ospreys), B Cockbain (Ospreys), I Gough (Newport Gwent Dragons), R Sidoli (Cardiff Blues), L Charteris (Newport Gwent Dragons), C Charvis (Newcastle), J Thomas (Ospreys), M Williams (Cardiff Blues), R Sowden-Taylor (Cardiff Blues), M Owen (Newport Gwent Dragons, vice-capt), A Popham (Llanelli Scarlets).