Blog Banner

Cardiff under-16 confirm line-ups for penultimate round of action

Pathway | 27th April 2022

Cardiff’s under-16 sides have confirmed their line-ups for the penultimate round of Regional Age Grade Championship action on Wednesday.

Cardiff North will host Ospreys East at Merthyr’s The Wern while Cardiff South travel to Llanelli, where they will take on Scarlets East. Next week will see the Cardiff sides going head-to-head in the final game of the campaign, with the match relocated to the club’s home - Cardiff Arms Park.

Ian Evans’ North side make a total of six changes from their victory over Dragons Black, with Tom Hughes replacing Sam Talbot in the number 10 jersey. 

The only other change in the backline sees Peter Richmond introduced on the wing, as Kodie Stone retains his full back slot following a stand-out performance in Ystrad Mynach.

Tom Bowen and Steffan Emanuel continue their link-up in midfield, but hooker Charlie Manship comes into the front row as Shae Mogford drops to the bench. There are three new faces in the back row with Sol Hadley, Jacob Greene and Evan Rees given the nod.

Sion Davies will captain Cardiff South at Parc y Scarlets, with Iestyn Williams opting for nine changes to his starting line-up, having seen off a determined Ospreys East side at Cardiff Arms Park last Wednesday.

Full back Ben Roberts, who impressed with a hat-trick against Dragons Black, returns to the number 15 jersey, and is joined in the back three by the incoming Owen Francis and James Hendry.

Iestyn Hutching comes into the midfield to partner Gethin O’Callaghan, and there are a series of changes in the pack, which includes a new-look front row of Robert Brew Davies, Jac Saunders and Isaac Godfrey.

Jaden Wilkins moves from the blindside into the second row, partnering Henry Davies. John Baldwin and Harrison Cooksey are the only forwards to keep hold of their starting positions, with Mike Davies handed the number eight jersey.

Cardiff North: Kodie Stone;  Caden Thomas, Tom Bowen, Steffan Emanuel, Peter Richmond; Tom Hughes, Josh Pearce; Jayden Meade, Charlie Manship, Sam Scott, Dylan McDonald, Ollie Rose, Sol Hadley, Jacob Greene, Evan Rees

Replacements: Josh Wilce, Shae Mogford, Noah Phillips, Mason Davies, Sam Talbot, Ethan Jones, Dylan Scott, Iestyn Evans

Cardiff South: Ben Roberts; Owen Francis, Iestyn Hutchings, Gethin O’Callaghan, James Hendry; Dewi Thomas, Sion Davies (capt.); Robert Brew Davies, Jac Saunders, Isaac Godfrey, Henry Davies, Jaden Wilkins, John Baldwin, Harrison Cooksey, Mike Davies

Replacements: Iwan Griffiths, James Steel, Daniel Carnell, Luke Caple, Theo Lewis, Reuben Seth Elias, Llew O’Brien, Josh Jackson

(Picture Credit: Riley Sports Photography)