Blog Banner

Cardiff quartet start against Canada

International | 29th June 2021

Four Cardiff Rugby stars have been named in the starting line-up as Wales kick off their summer campaign against Canada on Saturday.

After four appearances from the bench during the successful Guinness Six Nations campaign earlier in the year, centre Willis Halaholo is set for his first on the international stage as he links up with centre Jonathan Davies in the centre.

Tomos Williams returns to the number nine jersey, partnering Callum Sheedy at half back, while the backline also features uncapped wing Tom Rogers.

Two Cardiff stars are also named in the pack, with Dillon Lewis joining Nicky Smith and Elliot Dee in the front row.

James Botham features on the open side, joining the experienced back row duo Ross Moriarty and Aaron Wainwright.

Ben Thomas is in-line to win his first senior cap for Wales after showing impressive form in the recent Guinness PRO14 Rainbow Cup matches. He's joined on the bench by Josh Turnbull, who has been talismanic for his club this season and hopes to win a first cap since the 2018 tour to the Americas.

Elsewhere, Dragons lock Ben Carter will win his first cap as he links up with Will Rowlands in the boiler room, with uncapped Gareth Thomas and Taine Basham also named among the replacements.

With the likes of Sheedy and full back Leigh Halfpenny also included in the matchday 23, a total of six players have featured in the Cardiff Blues pathway.


15 Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets) (95 caps)

14 Jonah Holmes (Dragons) (5 caps)

13 Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby) (4 caps)

12 Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (88 caps)

11 Tom Rogers (Scarlets) (Uncapped)

10 Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears) (9 caps)

 9 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby) (22 caps)

 1 Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (39 caps)

 2 Elliot Dee (Dragons) (37 caps)

 3 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby) (28 caps)

 4 Ben Carter (Dragons) (Uncapped)

 5 Will Rowlands (Dragons) (7 caps)

 6 Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (45 caps)

 7 James Botham (Cardiff Rugby) (6 caps)

 8 Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (29 caps)


16 Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (17 caps)

17 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys) (Uncapped)

18 Leon Brown (Dragons) (17 caps)

19 Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Rugby) (10 caps)

20 Taine Basham (Dragons) (Uncapped)

21 Kieran Hardy (Scarlets) (4 caps)

22 Ben Thomas (Cardiff Rugby) (Uncapped)

23 Nick Tompkins (Saracens) (10 caps)