Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues youngsters named in Wales U20 and U18 squads

15th March 2017

A total of 11 Cardiff Blues players have been named in Wales U20's matchday squad to face France in the final game of their Six Nations campaign on Friday night (KO 8.05pm GMT)

Seven players feature in the starting line-up, as Shane Lewis-Hughes, James Botham and Aled Ward make up an all-Cardiff Blues back row. 

Rhys Carre and Corrie Tarrant combine in the front row, alongside Scarlets' Steffan Thomas, while Rhun Williams and Ben Jones are named amongst the backline.

Owen Lane links up with the squad for the first time, and is named on the bench alongside Dane Blacker and front row duo Tom Mably and Keiron Assiratti.

Meanwhile, three Cardiff Blues products have been named to represent Wales U18 in Lyon on Sunday (KO 2.00pm)

Outside half Ben Thomas is named in the number ten jersey, with Alun Lawrence featuring on the blindside. Back row Joe Miles is also named amongst the replacements.

Wales U20 take on France U20 at Stade Sapiac, Montauban on Friday (KO 8.05pm). The game will be broadcasted live on BBC 2 Wales.

Wales U18 face France U18 at Stade de L'Escale, Lyon on Sunday (KO 2.00pm).

Wales U20: Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues); Corey Baldwin (Scarlets), Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets), Keiran Williams (c) (Ospreys), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets); Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues), Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys); Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues), Corrie Tarrant (Cardiff Blues), Steff Thomas (Scarlets), Alex Dombrandt (Cardiff Met), Sean Moore (Pontypridd), Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues), James Botham (Cardiff Blues), Aled Ward (Cardiff Blues)

Replacements: Ellis Shipp (Newport Gwent Dragons), Tom Mably (Cardiff Blues), Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Blues), Jack Pope (Bridgend), Sid Blackmore (Bath), Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues), Arwel Robson (Newport Gwent Dragons), Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues)

Wales U18: Tomi Lewis (Scarlets/Llandovery College/Gwernyfed); James McCarthy (Dragons/Caerleon/Newport High/NHSOB), Dylan Moss (Ospreys/Wellington College), Callum Carson (Ospreys/Gower College/Gowerton), Corey Howells (Dragons/Newport High School/NHSOB); Ben Thomas (Blues/Cardiff and Vale College), Harri Morgan (Ospreys/Llangynwyd/Bryncethin); Jordan Walters (Ospreys/Neath Port Talbot College/Cwmafan) Will Griffiths (Dragons/Coleg Gwent/Newbridge), Josh Reynolds (Dragons/Newport High/NHSOB), Rhys Davies (Exiles/Millfield/Bath), Will Griffiths (c) (Ospreys/Gowerton Gowerton), Alun Lawrence (Blues/Coleg y Cymoedd/Llantrisant), Dan Davis (Scarlets/Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets Academy), Lennon Greggains (Dragons/Newport High School/NHSOB)

Replacements: Morgan Nelson (Exiles/Hartpury College/Hereford), Rhys Davies (Scarlets/Coleg Sir Gar/Carmarthen Quins), Llyr Green (Scarlets/Coleg Sir Gar/Amman United), Lewis Ellis Jones (Scarlets/Coleg Sir Gar/Aberystwyth), Joe Miles (Blues/Radyr/Cardiff and Vale/Cardiff), Dan Babos (Dragons/Croesyceiliog/Pontypool United), Cai Evans (Ospreys/Cowbridge Comprehensive/Cowbridge), Ben Cambriani (Ospreys/Gower College/Gowerton)