Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues under-18 continue winning streak with hard-fought victory

Age Grade & Academy | 30th January 2020

Cardiff Blues under-18 battled to a hard-fought victory over Dragons to extend their winning streak to three matches in the WRU Regional Age Grade Championship.

Following bonus point victories over Scarlets and RGC, Aled James and Craig Everett’s side extended their lead on the top of the table with their third win in eight days.

Dragons, who had members of the title-winning Coleg Gwent side in their team, threatened early as Joe Peard found a gap in the Blues’ defence, but last man Oliver James was on-hand to make a crucial tackle.

However, it was the hosts who struck for the first try of the game, but had to wait until the second half. Will Reed was charged down by Ryan Wilkins, and the centre kicked ahead.

The Cardiff Blues academy member, under pressure from Lewis Stansfield, had plenty to do but finished impressively in the corner for his third try of the campaign.

Dragons replied as Che Hope snuck his way to the whitewash, but the hosts remained patient and finally crossed for a decisive score.

Having worked their way into the visitors’ 22, the ball was shipped wide with impressive handling from the likes of Gwilym Evans and full back James. Wing Theo Cabango was on hand to beat the challenge of Joe Westwood and finish acrobatically in the corner.

Meanwhile, tries from Jack Locke, McKenzie Martyn and a Jack Davies brace saw Cardiff Blues South under-16 secure a win over Scarlets West in Tenby, as they got their Regional Age Grade Championship campaign back underway.

Cardiff Blues under-18: Oliver James; Jake Thomas, McCauley Rowley, Ryan Wilkins, Theo Cabango; Ben Burnell, Harvey Nash; Ellis Fackrell, Efan Daniel, Rhys Barrett, Rhys Anstey, Cai James, Alex Mann, Gwilym Evans, Evan Lloyd (capt.)

Replacements: Corben Evans, Travis Green, Jack Dauncey, Rhys Dauncey, Dylan Williams, Will O’Connor, Tyler Morris, Cameron Winnett

Dragons Under-18s: Joe Westwood; Rocky Barnett, Johnny Paynter, Oliver Andrews, Carrick McDonough; Will Reed, Che Hope; Aaron Dowse, Conor Chapman, Adam Williams, Joe Peard, George Young, Lewis Stansfield, Sam Scarfe, Ben Moa (c)

Replacements: Liam Lewis, Jarred Williams, Jack Powell, Ryan Woodman, Lloyd Thomas, Morgan Lloyd, Evan Gregg, Morgan Mohring