Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues quartet named in Wales squad for Pumas Test

6th June 2018

Cardiff Blues youngsters, Dillon Lewis and Seb Davies, have been named in Wales' starting line-up for the first Test against Argentina at San Juan on Saturday.

The duo have retained their starting spots, following impressive outings during last week's victory over Springboks at Washington D.C.

Gatland has made eight changes ahead of Saturday's clash, including Wyn Jones, who joins Lewis in the front row, while Davies, who is again named on the blindside, forms a new partnership with James Davies on the flanks.

Meanwhile, Gareth Anscombe is named on the bench alongside Josh Turnbull, who is rewarded following a fine season with his region.

Former Cardiff Blues academy products, Rhys Patchell and Cory Hill, also feature, with the latter appointed as captain for the clash.

Wales: 15. Hallam Amos (16 Caps); 14. Josh Adams (2 Caps), 13. Scott Williams (55 Caps), 12. Hadleigh Parkes (7 Caps), 11. George North (74 Caps); 10. Rhys Patchell (8 Caps), 9. Gareth Davies (32 Caps); 1. Wyn Jones (9 Caps), 2. Elliot Dee (8 Caps), 3. Dillon Lewis (3 Caps), 4. Adam Beard (2 Caps), 5. Cory Hill (16 Caps) (CAPTAIN), 6. Seb Davies (5 Caps), 7. James Davies (1 Cap), 8. Ross Moriarty (21 Caps)

Replacements: 16. Ryan Elias (3 Caps), 17. Rob Evans (25 Caps), 18. Tomas Francis (31 Caps), 19. Josh Turnbull (8 Caps), 20. Aaron Wainwright (*Uncapped), 21. Aled Davies (9 Caps), 22. Gareth Anscombe (16 Caps), 23. Owen Watkin (5 Caps)