Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select team named for B&I Cup opener

13th October 2017

Morgan Sieniawski will captain Cardiff Blues Premiership Select in their British and Irish Cup opener against Bristol on Saturday (Sardis Road, KO 2.30pm).

The Pontypridd flanker is named on the openside for tomorrow's clash, and is joined by Pontypridd teammate, Hemi Barnes, and Cardiff Blues' Sion Bennett in the back row.

The outside backs are made up of full-back Dan Fish and Cardiff Blues academy's Owen Lane and Ponty's Dale Stuckey, with Will Rees-Hole, who has been in fine try-scoring form for Cardiff in the Premiership recently, linking up with Harri Millard in midfield. 

Cardiff Blues academy and Wales U20's duo, Ben Jones and Dane Blacker, are reunited at half back.

Keiron Assiratti, who has featured for Cardiff Blues six times this season, is named at tighthead, with Ethan Lewis and Chris Phillips also lining up in the front row, while Sean Moore and Ben Murphy are the starting locks.

Bristol have been in fine form under new head coach, Pat Lam, maintaining a 100 per cent start to the campaign with six wins under their belts in the English Championship.

The Cardiff Blues Premiership Select side will be lead by head coach Justin Burnell, who is assisted by Llyr Lane and Matthew Rees.

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select travel to Dublin to take on Leinster 'A' next week at the Donnybrook Stadium, with Doncaster Knights also drawn in Pool 2.

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select: Dan Fish (Cardiff Blues); Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues academy), Harri Millard (Cardiff Blues), Will Rees-Hole (Cardiff RFC), Dale Stuckey (Pontypridd RFC); Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues Academy), Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues Academy); Chris Phillips (Pontypridd RFC), Ethan Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Blues Academy), Sean Moore (Pontypridd RFC), Ben Murphy (Merthyr RFC), Sion Bennett (Cardiff Blues), Morgan Sieniawski (Pontypridd RFC), Hemi Barnes (Pontypridd RFC)

Replacements: Ian Jenkins (Cardiff RFC), Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues Academy), Luke Crocker (Cardiff RFC), Osian Davies (Merthyr RFC), Joel Raikes (Pontypridd RFC), Ben Thomas (Cardiff Blues Academy), Lloyd Rowlands (Pontypridd RFC)