Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues North and South U18 sides confirmed for tonight's Sardis Road showdown

9th January 2018

Cardiff Blues North and Cardiff Blues South have made a host of changes for tonight's inter-regional clash at Sardis Road (KO 7.00pm)

The hosts make eight changes from the side that lost to Scarlets U18s at Sardis Road last week, while a short turn-around sees the visitors making 13 changes from Sunday's win over RGC at Cardiff Arms Park.

Five of Cardiff Blues North's changes come in the pack, with Matthew Iles, Curtis Greenslade and Fraser Hughes starting in a new-look front row. 

Cian Lewis-Hughes, brother of Cardiff Blues academy's Shane and try scorer against Scarlets last week, keeps his place at lock and is joined by Mitchell Barnard, who replaces Callum Hanley in the starting pack.

Ioan Davies comes in at the blindside, linking up with Ieuan Pring and captain Callun James in the back row. 

Ioan Evans and Iwan Price Thomas are introduced to the backline, with Nathan Griffiths given the nod at scrum half,  having been on the bench for last week's match.

There is a complete change for Cardiff Blues South's pack, with backs Ed Lewis and Joe Patterson the only players to retain their places.

Joe Melhuish, Owain Harvey and Adam Conway make up the front row, Lewis Jameson and Teddy Williams combine in the boiler room, with Ellis Reid, James Bartlett and Aaron Churchill completing the pack.

Lewis makes the switch from full-back, as Jacob Beetham is named on the bench following his 19-point haul against RGC. 

Joe Williams, Jack Roberts, Max Cunnington, Jay Jones and Ioan Davies are those introduced to the backline.

Cardiff Blues North U18: Iwan Price Thomas; George Thomas, Ioan Evans, Joe Vickers, Liam Lloyd; Rhys Davies, Nathan Griffiths; Mathew Iles, Curtis Greenslade, Fraser Hughes, Cian Lewis-Hughes, Mitchell Barnard, Ioan Davies, Callun James, Ieuan Pring

Replacements: Aneurin James, Garyn Phillips, Iestyn Haskins, Callum Hanley, Lloyd Gregory, Josh Oakley, Cavan Slade, Dafydd Thomas

Cardiff Blues South U18: Ioan Davies; Jay Jones, Max Cunnington, Jack Roberts, Joe Patterson; Ed Lewis, Joe Williams; Joe Melhuish, Owain Harvey, Adam Conway, Lewis Jameson, Teddy Williams, Ellis Reid, James Bartlett, Aaron Churchill

Replacements: Max Lucas, Luke Williamson, Harry O'Connor, Cameron Roy, Dylan Rigby, Josh Nolan, Jacob Beetham, Odin Pronk