Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues make changes for Judgement Day

14th April 2017

Danny Wilson has made four changes to his starting line-up to face the Ospreys on Judgement Day V at the Principality Stadium (2.45pm).

Three are enforced with George Earle, Sam Warburton and Blaine Scully ruled out following the injuries they sustained against Ulster last weekend.

Macauley Cook starts in the second-row, Nick Williams steps up from the bench at number eight with Josh Navidi switching to the flank and Matthew Morgan returns to full-back.

Elsewhere Kristian Dacey has recovered from an injury of his own to reclaim his hooker jersey with Matthew Rees dropping to the bench.

Wilson has been pleased with large swathes of his side’s recent performances but believes the Blues must reach the next level and play for 80 minutes against the Ospreys.

The Cardiff Blues head coach said: “Hopefully we can go up another level because we're all aware we need to against a very good Ospreys team.

"For the last three games, bar an unacceptable 14 minutes against Gloucester, the rest of the three performances have been really good, with the ball especially, we've played some really good rugby. 

"We took Leinster to within a point, which is the closest for a few years, and then a draw out in Ulster which could've resulted in a win, and is a credit to the group. 

"Judgement Day is a great occasion, we're playing against a very good opposition and I'm sure the boys will be right up for it and motivated.

"We're coming off the back of a huge game in Ulster, where it was one of the quickest and highest ball-in-play times I've seen in a Guinness PRO12 game, and was closer to an international.

"That's taken its toll, and we've had to look after the boys at the start of the week, but I'm also fully aware they'll be motivated and itching to get out there and play in a big game in the stadium.”

The Blues are now guaranteed a play-off spot to contest for the last position in next season’s European Champions Cup but Wilson is determined to finish as high up the Guinness PRO12 table as possible.

There are further changes on the bench with prop duo Rhys Gill and Anton Peikrishvili now available following injury.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Alex Cuthbert, Rey Lee-Lo, Willis Halaholo, Rhun Williams; Gareth Anscombe, Lloyd Williams; Gethin Jenkins (capt), Kristian Dacey, Taufa’ao Filise, Jarrad Hoeata, Macauley Cook, Josh Navidi, Ellis Jenkins, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Matthew Rees, Rhys Gill, Anton Peikrishvili, James Down, Sion Bennett, Tomos Williams, Steve Shingler, Aled Summerhill.