Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues In Pre Season Training

13th July 2006

The squad including three of the new recruits were put through their paces in pre-season training at Castell Coch today.

The speed and power drills saw the squad, minus the Welsh Internationals, sprinting up the hills surrounding the Castle after returning from their summer break.Taufa’ao Filise, Gary Powell and Scott Morgan were present.

Speaking at the training session Scott Morgan said,
“I’m settling in well and the boys have been great welcoming me in to the squad.

"The pre-season training is quite tough especially in this weather but it will prepare us well for the new season. It’s great to be back in Wales and I’m obviously looking forward to the challenges of playing for the Cardiff Blues.”

Gethin Jenkins added,
“It’s been good to have a break from rugby - sometimes you do get tired of doing the same things. Both mentally and physically I feel a lot fresher and it’s a nice change of environment doing things like the hill running in Castell Coch.

"I started last season recovering from a shoulder operation and although I’ve still been doing regular exercises on the shoulders I feel a lot better compared to the start of last season.”

Tom Shanklin also looked sharp after a season recovering from a serious knee injury. Tom said,
“Obviously the knee is a lot stronger now as was evident in the hill runs. I’m feeling better than ever and am looking forward to the new season more than most as I haven’t played for such a long time.”

The squad will be helping out in the Blues Family Funday at Cardiff Arms Park this Sunday which starts at 12.00pm and entry is free. The new Cardiff Blues kit and season tickets will be on sale and offer outstanding value for money.

Ben Blair is expected to arrive in early September while Mosese Luveitasau will be arriving in early August. Listed below are the players that will be arriving and leaving the Arms Park this season.

Taufa’ao Filise, Gary Powell, Scott Morgan, Ben Blair, Mosese Luveitasau Yabakitini, Duane Goodfield, Wayne Evans

Scott Roberts, Tom Riley, Dafydd Hewitt, Bradley Davies

Ross Johnson, Rhys Gill, Adam Powell, Dai Flannigan

Jonah Lomu, Ryan Powell, Roger Warren, Ben Evans, Lee Thomas, Maama Molitika, Matthew Nuthall, James Malpas, Martin Jones, Craig Morgan, Kort Schubert, Tristan Davies, Nathan Llewelyn

Dean Dewdney, Craig Quinnell, Dan Baugh