Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues duo recalled for Baby Blacks challenge

Pathway | 16th June 2019

Cardiff Blues academy duo, Max Llewellyn and Ben Warren, have been recalled into the starting line-up for Wales under-20's World Rugby U20 Championship clash against New Zealand.

Gareth Williams' side narrowly missed out on the final four, after being edged out at the pool stage by France and Argentina on bonus points.

However, Wales remain in contention for a fifth placed-finish but will need to topple the Baby Blacks in the semi final, with Ireland and England also set to go head-to-head.

Williams has made a total of six changes to the side that defeated Fiji in a thrilling encounter, with Llewellyn returning to the midfield to partner Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler.

The other change amongst the backline sees Ryan Conbeer return to the wing in place of regional team-mate, Tomi Lewis, as Sam Costelow also drops to the bench.

Cardiff Blues' Ioan Davies retains the number 15 jersey after a starring role agains the Pacific Islanders.

A further four changes are made in the pack, with Ben Warren - who made a try-scoring appearance from the bench against Fiji - and Scarlets' Kemsley Mathias reuniting with captain Dewi Lake to form a familiar-looking front-row. Morgan Jones and Lennon Greggains are also welcomed back into the pack. 

“We’ve always emphasised how important the squad of 28 is, and this is getting more and more evident the longer we go in to this competition,” said Williams.

“Playing New Zealand is a great test for us, and a great fixture to be preparing for. They are rightly regarded as one of the best teams in the world at this age group.

“We don’t always get the opportunity to play southern hemisphere teams so this is a big challenge for us but one we have prepared well for.”

Teddy Williams is once again amongst the replacements in Rosario, while there is a call-up for Ioan R Davies, who was a late arrival following injury in the squad.

Wales U20 v New Zealand U20; 
Racecourse Stadium, Rosariol; 17 June, KO 2.30pm (BST)

15 Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues)
14 Deon Smith (Dragons)
13 Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues)
12 Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys)
11 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets)
10 Cai Evans (Ospreys)
9 Dafydd Buckland (Dragons);
1 Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets)
2 Dewi Lake (Capt – Ospreys)
3 Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues)
4 Morgan Jones (Scarlets)
5 Jac Price (Scarlets)
6 Lennon Greggains (Dragons)
7 Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers)
8 Jac Morgan (Aberavon/Scarlets)

Reserves: Garin Lloyd (Ospreys), Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets), Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Tom Devine (Dragons)
Ioan R Davies (Cardiff Blues), Will Griffiths (Dragons), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets)