Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues change two for Glasgow Warriors

6th January 2017

Danny Wilson has made two changes to the Cardiff Blues line-up for Saturday's trip to Scotstoun to face Glasgow Warriors in the Guinness PRO12 (7.35pm).

Blaine Scully has recovered from injury and comes in for Rhun Williams on the wing, with Anton Peikrishvili returning from suspension replacing Taufa’ao Filise at tight-head prop.
The Blues will be looking to bounce back from the New Year’s Day derby defeat at Scarlets and close the gap on the top six in the PRO12 table.
Wilson was encouraged by elements of that performance but admits the Blues must improve their accuracy to secure results.
The Cardiff Blues head coach said: “We need to pick up league wins to give ourselves a chance to be in that top six. Glasgow will be another tough challenge in a short six-day turn around, but one we will relish.
“If we can play with the hunger and passion we played with in the two derbies and the physicality, it will give us a chance.
“We need to be more accurate with the opportunities we get, but I’m certainly seeing some areas of our game building and improving over the last month.
“Gregor Townsend has done a fantastic job at Glasgow and at their place with the style of rugby they’re playing it will be a big challenge.
“They play on the same surface we do. If we can be somewhere we’ve been recently defensively, it gives us a good chance to cause an upset.”
New short-term loan signing BJ Edwards is also named amongst the replacements. Edwards linked up with the Blues from Bristol this week and provides cover while George Earle is suspended and Josh Turnbull and Seb Davies are on the sidelines.
Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Alex Cuthbert, Rey Lee-Lo, Willis Halaholo, Blaine Scully; Steven Shingler, Lloyd Williams; Rhys Gill, Kristian Dacey, Anton Peikrishvili, Macauley Cook, James Down, Ellis Jenkins, Sam Warburton (capt), Josh Navidi
Replacements: Matthew Rees, Brad Thyer, Scott Andrews, Jarrad Hoeata, BJ Edwards, Tomos Williams, Nicky Robinson, Rhun Williams
The following players were unavailable for selection:
Lewis Jones
Dan Fish
Aled Summerhill
Gethin Jenkins
Gareth Anscombe
Josh Turnbull
Ethan Lewis
Dillon Lewis
Tom James
Seb Davies
Nick Williams
George Earle