Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues change six for Lyon challenge

19th January 2018

Cardiff Blues have made six changes as they aim to complete a European Challenge Cup double over Lyon on Saturday (5pm GMT).

The Blues have already qualified for a quarter-final place following last week’s victory over Toulouse but hope to make it back-to-back victories over French opposition.
With qualification already secured and hopes of a home tie slim, Danny Wilson has taken the opportunity to rest some key personnel while giving others valuable game-time.
Three of the changes come in the back-line with Rey Lee-Lo returning to replace the injured Willis Halaholo. Blaine Scully makes his comeback from injury and Lloyd Williams gets the nod at scrum-half.
Up front Dillon Lewis starts at tight-head prop, Damian Welch comes in for George Earle, who is unavailable and Macauley Cook starts on the blindside with the ever versatile Josh Navidi moving to number eight.
Wilson was delighted to secure a knockout place with a game to spare but he insists Cardiff Blues are determined to maintain momentum with another notable win.
Wilson said: "To come out of that group, winning it with a game to spare, is a great achievement.
"We've done what we can do in qualifying for the quarter finals. We can't influence whether we get a home tie and the odds are very highly stacked against us to get that.
"But ultimately we're going to Lyon to win. We certainly don't want to finish with a loss in this group, which we've performed very well in.

"As a group, we know how important momentum is and I'm confident we'll pick a team who are confident and will approach the game with the relevant manner to get an away win.

"We beat Lyon at home, we beat Toulouse home and away and if we can get another French scalp it will be a big achievement. The important thing for us is to keep rolling with the momentum.”
Cardiff Blues have also been boosted by the timely return to fitness of Rhun Williams, who is named among the replacements following a pectoral injury.
Cardiff Blues: Gareth Anscombe; Alex Cuthbert, Garyn Smith, Rey Lee-Lo, Blaine Scully; Jarrod Evans, Lloyd Williams; Gethin Jenkins (capt), Matthew Rees, Dillon Lewis, Damian Welch, Josh Turnbull, Macauley Cook, Ellis Jenkins, Josh Navidi.
Replacements: Kirby Myhill, Brad Thyer, Scott Andrews, James Down, Olly Robinson, Tomos Williams, Steve Shingler, Rhun Williams.