Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues change five for Welsh derby

27th October 2017

Cardiff Blues have made five changes for their return to Guinness PRO14 action against the Scarlets on Saturday (7.35pm).

The Blues go into the Welsh derby at Parc y Scarlets on the back of consecutive European Challenge Cup victories against Lyon and Toulouse.

Kristian Dacey continues to skipper the team and four of the changes come in the pack. Brad Thyer and Dillon Lewis complete the front-row, while Seb Davies and Olly Robinson step up from the bench at lock and flanker respectively.

The only other change comes in the back-line where Willis Halaholo returns to form a familiar midfield partnership with Rey Lee-Lo.

Cardiff Blues head coach Danny Wilson expects a formidable challenge from the Llanelli-based outfit but he insists his side can go into the encounter with confidence.

 Wilson said: “On the back of four wins out of five, culminating with a great win out in Toulouse, we can go there with confidence. 

“It was a good performance (Toulouse) and a very pleasing result away from home in a venue like that and against a multi-million-pound squad. To come out of Europe with two wins is great.

“However, the Scarlets are the league champions and they’re on their own patch so it is probably the toughest fixture of the season so far.

“We’ve had a couple of headaches in terms of selection following the performances in the last five weeks but we are still without a number of top professionals like Gethin Jenkins, Ellis Jenkins, Gareth Anscombe and Sam Warburton.”

Former Scarlets Matthew Rees, Josh Turnbull and Steve Shingler all line up on the bench, while Lloyd Williams will make his 150th appearance if he is called into action.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Alex Cuthbert, Rey Lee-Lo, Willis Halaholo, Blaine Scully; Jarrod Evans, Tomos Williams; Brad Thyer, Kristian Dacey (capt), Dillon Lewis, Seb Davies, James Down, Josh Navidi, Olly Robinson, Nick Williams.

Replacement: Matthew Rees, Corey Domachowski, Keiron Assiratti, Macauley Cook, Josh Turnbull, Lloyd Williams, Steve Shingler, Rhun Williams.