Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues announce squad for British and Irish Cup

11th October 2017

Cardiff Blues have announced their Premiership Select squad for the first two games of the British and Irish Cup campaign.

Round one is being played this weekend, with Cardiff Blues' representative side hosting Bristol RFC at Sardis Road on Saturday, 14 October (KO 2.30pm).

A week later, Saturday, 21 October, the Blues' first away trip sees them travel out to Dublin, where they will take on Leinster A at Donnybrook Stadium (KO 7.30pm).

The squad contains a mix of youth and experience, rewarding various players who have performed well for Merthyr, Pontypridd and Cardiff over the first few weeks of Principality Premiership action.

The side will be lead by head coach Justin Burnell, and assisted by Llyr Lane and Matthew Rees.

Dan Fish (Cardiff Blues), Lloyd Rowlands (Pontypridd), Dale Stuckey (Pontypridd), Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues Academy), Harri Millard (Cardiff Blues Academy), Will Rees Hole (Cardiff), Alex Webber (Pontypridd), Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues Academy), Diggy Bird (Pontypridd), Ben Thomas (Cardiff Blues Academy), Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues Academy), Joel Raikes  (Pontypridd), Rhodri Cole (Cardiff)

Christian Phillips (Pontypridd), Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues Academy), Huw Owen (Pontypridd), Ethan Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Ian Jenkins (Cardiff) Joe Page (Pontypridd), Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Blues Academy), Will Davies-King (Pontypridd), Ben Murphy (Merthyr), Sean Moore (Pontypridd), Chris Smith (British Army/Cardiff), Shay Smallman (Pontypridd), Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues Academy), Sion Bennett (Cardiff Blues), Morgan Sieniawski (Pontypridd), Osian Davies (Merthyr), Luke Crocker (Cardiff)