Blog Banner

Blues quartet face Springboks

19th June 2014

Cardiff Blues stars Alex Cuthbert, Gethin Jenkins, Josh Turnbull and Matthew Rees have been named in the Welsh squad to face the Springboks in Nelspruit on Saturday (KO 15.00 local).

Prop Samson Lee will make his first start for Wales in the front-row and flanker Josh Turnbull comes into the starting XV after featuring from the bench last weekend.

Lee, who made his international debut last November against Argentina, will join Blues prop Gethin Jenkins and Ken Owens in a new look front-row.

Captain Alun Wyn Jones, who will make his 80th appearance for Wales continues his partnership with Luke Charteris in the second-row with Turnbull lining up alongside British and Irish Lions duo Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau.

The back-line remains unchanged from the first test with Mike Phillips and Dan Biggar named at half-back.

Wales' record centre partnership of Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies feature in the midfield with George North and Alex Cuthbert on the wings and Liam Williams at full-back.

"We have been really happy with the response from the players during training this week, we have had a good week and we see Saturday as an opportunity to right the wrongs of last weekend," said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

"We were disappointed with last week's display but we want to finish the season with a big performance and show what we know we are capable of.”

There are three changes amongst the replacements with Aaron Jarvis, Jake Ball and Dan Baker all coming into the match day squad. They join Matthew Rees and Paul James as the forward contingent. Gareth Davies and Matthew Morgan who both made their international debuts in Durban are named on the bench along with James Hook.

Liam Williams, Alex Cuthbert , Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, George North, Dan Biggar, Mike Phillips, Gethin Jenkins , Ken Owens , Samson Lee , Luke Charteris , Alun Wyn Jones (Capt), Dan Lydiate, Josh Turnbull, Taulupe Faletau .

Replacements: Matthew Rees, Paul James, Aaron Jarvis, Jake Ball, Dan Baker, Gareth Davies, James Hook, Matthew Morgan.