Blog Banner

Blues Name Team for Leinster

3rd September 2004

The Blues team to play Leinster in the Celtic League opener at Donnybrook on Sunday (5.15 pm) has been announced.

It includes the three Williams's: skipper Martyn who returns after family commitments last weekend; full back Rhys after touring Argentina and South Africa with Wales; and hooker Gareth who has recovered from a neck injury that has sidelined him since last January and whose only game since then was as a replacement in the pre-season friendly at Leicester.

The starting line-up also includes Tristan Davies, Kort Schubert, Deiniol Jones and Robert Sidoli who all make their competitive debut for the Blues. Gethin Jenkins, Mark Lewis and Lee Thomas are three more newcomers among the replacements and Tom Shanklin is also included in the 22.

Andrew Lewis has suffered a reaction to his jaw injury sustained at Leicester so Cardiff's Premier Division hooker Michael Leaman travels with the team. Nick Robinson and Fereti Tuilagi were not considered because of injuries.

Cardiff Blues team: (15) Rhys Williams; (14) Nick Walne, (13) Jamie Robinson, (12) Tristan Davies, (11) Craig Morgan, (10) Nick Macleod, (9) Richard Smith; (1) John Yapp, (2) Gareth Williams, (3) Ben Evans, (4) Deiniol Jones, (5) Robert Sidoli, (6) Nathan Thomas, (7) Martyn Williams, capt, (8) Kort Schubert

Replacements: (16) Gethin Jenkins, (17) Michael Leaman, (18) Craig Quinnell, (19) Mark Lewis, (20) Dean Dewdney, (21) Lee Thomas, (22) Tom Shanklin

Referee: David Changleng (Scotland)