Blog Banner

Blues discover World Club 7s fixtures

29th July 2014

Cardiff Blues will face Buenos Aires, Vodacom Blue Bulls and Gloucester Rugby on day one of the World Club 7s at Twickenham after the fixtures were confirmed by Premiership Rugby.

Twelve teams, from seven nations, will take part in the World Club 7s tournament in London on Saturday, August 16 and Sunday, August 17.

The pools have now been announced and each of the three groups has a cosmopolitan feel as 12 of the best club 7s sides from across the world battle it out over two days of high-octane rugby.

New York - last year's Plate Winners - have been handed the privilege of kicking off the tournament at 11.30am on Saturday, taking on Siberian side RC Enisei, while the heavyweight clash between Auckland and Super 15 finalists NSW Waratahs closes day one at 6.30pm.

In between thousands of fans will be treated to a feast of 19 different 7s rugby clashes that include an exhibition game between the Army and a Rugby For Heroes select side at 1.50pm.

All teams will compete against each other on day one, before dividing into three Cup competitions on day two, with the leading sides competing for the chance to be crowned the best club 7s side in rugby.

Cardiff Blues join Siberia's RC Enisei, Australia's NSW Waratahs and USA's Seattle for their World Club 7s debuts. Vodacom Blue Bulls, Auckland, DHL Western Province, New York City 7s, Gloucester Rugby, Kuban Krasnodar and Buenos Aires are among the teams making a return to Twickenham for this year's tournament.

The 12th side, who will go into Pool A alongside RC Enisei and DHL Western Province will be confirmed on the evening of Friday 8 August, at the final of the Premiership Rugby 7s competition.
Cardiff Blues play on day one against Buenos Aires (kick-off 12.39pm), Gloucester Rugby (kick-off 3.05pm) and Vodacom Blue Bulls (kick-off 5.46pm).

Live BT Sport coverage starts on Saturday at 3pm when Cardiff Blues take on Gloucester Rugby, followed by an intriguing clash between the Vodacom Blue Bulls and Buenos Aires.

The knockout matches start at 11.30am on Sunday with the Final kicking off just after 5.30pm. The exhibition match on the Sunday will see two top-class women's teams meet for The Supporters Club Trophy.

Click HERE to buy tickets to join Cardiff Blues at the World Club 7s.
World Club 7s Pools:
Pool A: RC Enisei, New York, PRL 7s Winners, DHL Western Province
Pool B: Gloucester Rugby, Vodacom Blue Bulls, Cardiff Blues, Buenos Aires
Pool C: Kuban Krasnodar, Auckland, NSW Waratahs, Seattle

World Club 7s Fixtures – Day One:
11.30 – Group A – RC Enisei vs NewYork
11.53 – Group A - PRL 7s Winners vs DHL Western Province
12.16 – Group B – Gloucester Rugby vs Vodacom Blue Bulls
12.39 – Group B – Cardiff Blues vs Buenos Aires
13.02 – Group C - Kuban Krasnodar vs Auckland
13.25 – Group C - NSW Waratahs vs Seattle
13.50 – Army v Rugby for Heroes – Services Challenge
14.15 – Group A – RC Enisei vs PRL 7s Winners
14.38 – Group A – New York vs DHL Western Province
15.05 – Group B – Gloucester Rugby vs Cardiff Blues
15.28 – Group B – Vodacom Blue Bulls vs Buenos Aires
15.51 – Group C – Kuban Krasnodar vs NSW Waratahs
16.14 – Group C – Auckland vs Seattle
16.37 – Group A – RC Enisei vs DHL Western Province
17.00 – Group A – New York vs PRL 7s Winners
17.23 – Group B – Gloucester Rugby vs Buenos Aires
17.46 - Group B – Vodacom Blue Bulls vs Cardiff Blues
18.06 – Group C – Kuban Krasnodar vs Seattle
18.32 – Group C – Auckland vs NSW Waratahs