Blog Banner

Blues Cup Launched

4th December 2008

The 2008/09 season sees the launch of the Blues Cup, and exciting new rugby competition for mini and junior teams in the Cardiff Blues region. Teams from the Under 14’s down to the Under 10’s will play against each other with a big final held at the Arms Park during May 2009.

Speaking of the new Blues Cup, Richard Hodges the Blues Community & Coach Development Manager Said, “There’s no competition structure at mini and junior level rugby at the moment as it is all about participation and enjoyment.  We wanted to continue this aspect, but also bring in a little element of competition to try to accentuate the community structure and giving teams a big final at the Arms Park. With six games in one day it’s sure to be a great occasion.”
“There will be five age groups with no Under 15 competition because this is the Dewar Shield age group. However, the seven Dewar Shield teams within our region will also play each other and these matches will count towards a league table. The top two teams will play against each other on the finals day. These age group matches will help us identify players for the Blues North and Blues South Under 16 teams.”
“It’s taken a lot of work to get the competition up and running but all the clubs are looking forward to it. It’s all about putting a smile on the faces of the youngsters taking part and giving teams a chance to create a further affinity with the region.”
Under 10     
Llanishen v Mountain Ash
Aberdare v Cricc / Maerdy Ferndale
Rumney v Hirwaun
Pontypridd v Ystrad Rhondda
Ciacs v Pontyclun
Rhydyfelin v Treharris
Penarth v St Peters
Brecon v Gilfach Goch
Builth Wells v Beddau
Dowlais v Gwernyfed
St Josephs v Crickhowell
Llantwit Major v Fairwater
Treorchy v Abercwmboi
Cowbridge v Rhiwbina
Pentyrch v Abercynon
Ynysowen v Llandaff North
Under 11                       
Treorchy v Brecon
Glam Wands v Rhiwbina
Ystrad Rhondda v Merthyr
Hirwaun v Penarth
Beddau v Pentyrch
Aberdare v Treharris
Abercynon v Cowbridge / St Peters
Cricc v Llanishen
Under 12                       
Abercwmboi v Cricc
Pontyclun / Abercynon v Mountain Ash
Llandaff v Llantwit Major
Rhiwbina v Llandaff North
Maerdy Ferndale v Pentyrch
St Josephs v Rhydyfelin
Cowbridge v Aberdare
Treorchy v Pontypridd
Llanishen v Ciacs
Merthyr v Rumney
Ystrad Rhondda v Hirwaun
Beddau v Crickhowell
Treharris v St Albans
Penarth v Glam Wands
Gwernyfed v Fairwater
Gilfach Goch v St Peters
Under 13                       
Glam Wanderers vRhiwbina
Dowlais v Ystrad Rhondda
Rumney v Abercynon
Llanishen v Pentyrch
Llandaff North v Cowbridge
Beddau v Aberdare
St Peters v Merthyr
Cricc v St Albans
Under 14                       
Ystrad Rhondda v Mountain Ash
Rhiwbina v Llanishen
Penarth v Gilfach Goch
Treorchy / Cowbridge v Glamorgan Wanderers
Pentyrch / Beddau v St Peters
St Josephs v Aberdare
Fairwater v Dowlais
Pontypridd v Llantwit Major