Blog Banner

Blues Announce Heineken Cup Squad

20th November 2003

The Blues have finalised their 34-man squad for the Heineken Cup pool matches that begin with an away trip to Sale Sharks on Saturday 6 December.

All of the Blues' Rugby World Cup representatives are included. To meet the tournament's requirements of registering ten front row forwards, the squad also includes hookers Leyton Phillips and Ryan Price plus prop Darren Sweet.

Not considered because of injuries were Richard Smith, Dean Dewdney and Jonny Vaughton. However, changes can be made if the Blues qualify for the quarter-finals in the New Year.

Coach David Young said,

"The Heineken Cup matches ask real questions of all the competing teams and this season is no exception. We have a tough pool with the Sharks first up and then Leinster Lions and Biarritz Olympique. But we have named our best available squad and are looking forward to the challenge.

"We knew that Richard and Dean were long-term injuries, and it's bad luck on them, while Jonny will definitely come into consideration if we are in a position to re-register in January."

Squad: Matt Allen, Rob Appleyard, Dan Baugh, Jim Brownrigg, Darren Crompton, Ben Evans, Ken Fourie, Iestyn Harris, Andrew Lewis, Nick Macleod, James Malpas, Dan McShane, Andrew Moore, Andy Moore, Craig Morgan, Pieter Muller, Leyton Phillips, Ryan Powell, Ryan Price, Craig Quinnell, Jamie Robinson, Nick Robinson, Heino Senekal, Tom Shanklin, Robin Sowden-Taylor, Darren Sweet, Nathan Thomas, Rhys Thomas, Donavan van Vuuren, Nick Walne, Gareth Williams, Martyn Williams, Rhys Williams, John Yapp