Blog Banner

Belcher and de Beer win big at the End of Season Awards

Community | 3rd June 2024

Liam Belcher and Tinus de Beer were the big winners at Cardiff Rugby’s End of Season Awards, held at Land Rover Stratstone on Sunday night.

Belcher came away with The Peter Thomas Player of the Season Award after an outstanding campaign which saw him frequently captain the team in the absence of Josh Turnbull, while de Beer won both the Fan’s Player of the Season and Players Player of the Season Awards in his debut season with the Club.

The abrasive fly-half started all but one of the Blue & Blacks’ matches and finished as the BKT United Rugby Championship’s second-highest point scorer.

Elsewhere, Alex Mann secured the Breakthrough of the Season Gong after a campaign which saw him make his Wales debut and consistently excel in the back row, while prop Cameron Tyler-Grocott won Academy Player of the Season.

Thomas Young’s magnificent try against Harlequins after some individual brilliance by Tomos Williams was voted by the fans as Try of the Season.

There was also an opportunity to celebrate the Women’s game, with scrum-half Seren Lockwood picking up the Women’s U18 Player of the Season Trophy and Rhodd Parry winning the Gwalia Player of the Year Award.

In the community game, Owen Smith was recognised for his work with the Outstanding Contribution to Community Rugby Award.

Finally, Rosie Jones of Fitzalan High School and Jo Eveleigh of Barry RFC were the winners of the Club and School Recognition awards respectively.




Club Recognition Award

Jo Eveleigh (Barry RFC)

Glamorgan Brewing

School Recognition Award

Rosie Jones (Fitzalan High School


Outstanding Contribution to Community Rugby

Owen Smith

Cardiff Rugby Community Foundation

Womens U18 Player of the Season

Seren Lockwood

Cardiff Life Awards

Gwalia POY from Cardiff Region

Rhodd Parry

Heidi’s and Proud Mary

Try of the Season

Thomas Young


Academy Player of the Season 

Cameron Tyler-Grocott


Breakthrough of the Season 

Alex Mann


Fan's player of the season

Tinus de Beer


Players Player of the Season 

Tinus de Beer


The Peter Thomas Player of the Season

Liam Belcher