Blog Banner

Anscombe returns for Saracens challenge

7th December 2018

Gareth Anscombe returns to the Cardiff Blues side for Sunday's Heineken Champions Cup clash against Saracens at Allianz Park.

Anscombe, who starred in the number 10 jersey for Wales during their autumn clean sweep, starts at outside half as John Mulvihill makes four changes from last week’s narrow defeat to Ulster at Kingspan Stadium.
Jarrod Evans is selected at inside centre and forms a new look midfield combination with Harri Millard, who will make his first European appearance for the region.
Dillon Lewis and Kirby Myhill are reintroduced to the starting line-up, replacing Scott Andrews and Kristian Dacey in the front row, with former Saracen Rhys Gill retained at the loosehead following an impressive performance in Belfast.
The final change sees George Earle partner Seb Davies at lock, as Josh Turnbull moves to the blindside and Samu Manoa starts at number eight.
Mulvihill said: “This weekend will be a massive challenge but at the same time it is also a huge opportunity for us to make a statement and improve upon a narrow PRO14 loss last weekend.
“We are right in the mix in Pool 3 and these back-to-back matches against Saracens will be decisive. We have to rise to the occasion and we have already demonstrated we can step up in Europe with a great win over in Lyon.
"Saracens are at the top of their game at the moment so we are well aware of what's coming at us this Sunday.
“This week is all about staying in the contest, competing for every piece of possession and putting their structured game plan under pressure and a good lead into our derby games that are just around the corner.”
Lloyd Williams retains the captaincy in Ellis Jenkins’ absence, while Macauley Cook has recovered from an injury to be named amongst the replacements.
Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Blaine Scully, Harri Millard, Jarrod Evans, Jason Harries; Gareth Anscombe, Lloyd Williams (capt); Rhys Gill, Kirby Myhill, Dillon Lewis, George Earle, Seb Davies, Josh Turnbull, Olly Robinson, Samu Manoa

Replacements: Ethan Lewis, Brad Thyer, Scott Andrews, Macauley Cook, Nick Williams, Lewis Jones, Steven Shingler, Garyn Smith