Blog Banner

Anglo-Welsh Cup Format Announced

25th June 2005

The format of the new Anglo-Welsh Cup competition was revealed at the weekend with Cardiff Blues grouped with Saracens, London Wasps and London Irish.

The competition, which will kick-off on the first weekend in October, will comprise of four regional pools with each team in the pool playing each other only once.

The winners of the pools will go forward into the semi-finals on the weekend of the 4th/ 5th March with the Powergen Cup Final scheduled to be played on the weekend of 8th/ 9th April.

The four groups are as follows:

Group A

Group B
Cardiff Blues
London Irish
London Wasps

Group C
Leeds Tykes
Llanelli Scarlets
Newcastle Falcons
Sale Sharks

Group D
Leicester Tigers
Newport-Gwent Dragons
Northampton Saints
Worcester Warriors

Fixtures 2005-06

Powergen Cup Round 1
September 30 & October 1st/2nd

Bath v Bristol
Gloucester v Ospreys
London Irish v London Wasps
Cardiff Blues v Saracens
Leeds Tykes v Llanelli Scarlets
Newcastle Falcons v Sale Sharks
Newport-Gwent Dragons v Leicester Tigers
Worcester Warriors v Northampton Saints

Powergen Cup Round 2
October 7th/8th/9th

Ospreys v Bath
Bristol v Gloucester
Saracens v London Irish
London Wasps v Cardiff Blues
Sale Sharks v Leeds Tykes
Llanelli Scarlets v Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints v Newport-Gwent Dragons
Leicester Tigers v Worcester Warriors

Powergen Cup Round 3
December 1st/2nd/3rd

Bath v Gloucester
Bristol v Ospreys
London Irish v Cardiff Blues
London Wasps v Saracens
Leeds Tykes v Newcastle Falcons
Llanelli Scarlets v Sale Sharks
Newport-Gwent Dragons v Worcester Warriors
Leicester Tigers v Northampton Saints

Powergen Cup Semi Final
March 4th or 5th

Powergen Cup Final
April 8th or 9th