Blog Banner

All change for the Blues

25th November 2004

The Blues will play The Borders in Galashiels tomorrow (Friday) evening with a starting line-up showing nine changes, three of them positional, from the side that lost in Ulster last weekend.

Into the side come Fereti Tuilagi, Tristan Davies, James Malpas and a new unit in the front row, Andrew Lewis, Rhys Thomas and Martin Jones. Lee Thomas, Nathan Budgett and Nathan Thomas are involved in positional switches. Craig Morgan will continue as captain in the absence of Martyn Williams and Craig Quinnell.

Dean Dewdney has recovered from a mouth injury and is named among the replacements.

Assistant coach Geraint John said, "We are still handicapped by several injuries in our selection options, including Craig Quinnell. However, players like James Malpas and Matthew Nuthall have been itching to have an opportunity at this level and this is their chance to make an impact. The other good news is that Ryan Powell and Tristan Davies reported no ill-effects after their comeback match last week so, fingers-crossed, they will have no more setbacks."

Team: Matthew Nuthall; Fereti Tuilagi, Shaun James, Tristan Davies, Craig Morgan (captain); Lee Thomas, Ryan Powell; Andrew Lewis, Rhys Thomas, Martin Jones, Deiniol Jones, Nathan Budgett, Nathan Thomas, James Malpas, Robin Sowden-Taylor

Replacements: John Yapp, Ben Evans, Robert Sidoli, Mark Lewis, Richard Smith, Dean Dewdney, Nick Macleod

Referee: Marshall Kilgore (Ireland)