Blog Banner

Academy intake confirmed for 2016-17

25th May 2016

Cardiff Blues continue to develop players for the future with the latest intake to the academy confirmed for next season.

The likes of Dillon Lewis, Jarrod Evans, Aled Summerhill and recent Most Promising Player of the Season winner Garyn Smith made their mark with the first team in the 2015-16 campaign.

And next season will see Corey Domachowski, Liam Belcher, Kieron Assiratti, Seb Davies, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Owen Lane, Harri Millard and Rhun Williams contracted to the region.

They will train full-time with the first team squad as tier-one academy players and be backed up by another 13 young prospects, who complete the region’s core academy group.

Elite performance pathway manager Richard Hodges said: "It’s becoming increasingly difficult to get into our Academy and that’s exactly how it should be.  

“Our pathway and, in particular, the success of our A licensed schools and colleges has ensured the conveyor belt continues in this region.  

“We have to make tough calls but they’re done in conjunction with our succession plans for the region with Danny (Wilson) and Billy (Millard).

“Once again we have produced the most age grade internationals this season and have more than 30 players in our first team squad that are home grown.  

“For this next batch the hard work is just beginning as quite simply those that work the hardest tend to the ones that succeed." 

An impressive 21 players from the Blues will feature in either the World Rugby Under-20 Championship or for Wales Under-18’s in South Africa this summer – more than any other region.

Eleven of the 13 tier two players have also come through the A licensed school and college system with five centres in place next season  - Coleg y Cymoedd, Cardiff & Vale College, Cowbridge Comprehensive, Whitchurch High School and the new addition of Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf.

Tier 1:

Corey Domachowski
Liam Belcher
Kieron Assirattti
Seb Davies
Shane Lewis Hughes
Owen Lane
Harri Millard 
Rhun Williams
Tier 2:
Rhys Carre
Tom Mably
Corrie Tarrant
Josh Novell
Calum Bradbury
Aled Ward
Jim Botham
Morgan Sienawski
Joe Gaughan
Dane Blacker
Declan Williams
Cameron Lewis
Teri Gee