Blog Banner

33-man squad arrive in Cape Town

First Team News | 9th March 2022

Cardiff Rugby have arrived in South Africa with a 33-man squad ahead of the United Rugby Championship fixtures against Emirates Lions and DHL Stormers.

The Blue and Blacks were due to face the South African sides last year but the fixtures were postponed due to the emergence of the Omicron Covid-19 variation.

Dai Young’s men now face the Lions at Emirates Airlines Park (Ellis Park) on March 13 and the Stormers at DHL Stadium on March 20 in the rearranged fixtures.

Young has named a 33-man squad which includes 16 full internationals and 22 players, who have come through the club’s regional pathway.

Josh Turnbull leads the squad and is joined by fellow Wales back-row forward Ellis Jenkins, who has been released from Wayne Pivac’s Six Nations squad and up and coming loose-head Rhys Barrett, who has been with Wales Under-20s.

In the backs Jacob Beetham and Theo Cabango are included for the first time since impressing while the bulk of the squad were in isolation in November, while Luke Scully is named after recovering from ACL surgery.

Cardiff Rugby travelling squad:

Frowards: Brad Thyer, Corey Domachowski, Rhys Barrett, Kirby Myhill, Kristian Dacey, Keiron Assiratti, Dmitri Arhip, Will Davies-King, Matthew Screech, Rory Thornton, Teddy Williams, Josh Turnbull, Rhys Anstey,  Will Boyde, James Botham, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Ellis Jenkins.

Backs: Lloyd Williams, Jamie Hill, Ellis Bevan, Jarrod Evans, Luke Scully, Ben Thomas, Max Llewellyn, Garyn Smith, Rey Lee-Lo, Jason Harries, Aled Summerhill, Owen Lane, Theo Cabango, Hallam Amos, Matthew Morgan, Jacob Beetham.