Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Ospreys
Sat 14 April 18:30 Cardiff City Stadium Att: 8,396 Ref: George Clancy Pro12

Blues name side for Ospreys encounter

Fri 13 Apr 2012 10:01 Blues name side for Ospreys encounter
There are three changes in the backs to the team that lost to Leinster, with Harry Robinson returning from Wales 7’s duties to start on the wing in place of Tom James, who is out with a neck injury. Gavin Evans, who this week announced he has signed a new two year deal with the Blues, starts at outside centre with Casey Laulala moving to the bench. Ceri Sweeney starts at 10 with Dan Parks also moving to the bench.

There are three changes in the forwards with John Yapp replacing Gethin Jenkins who is out with shoulder injury, Sam Hobbs replacing Scott Andrews and Luke Hamilton, who makes his RaboDirect debut, starting at Number 8 instead of Xavier Rush who is out with a neck injury. There is no place for Chris Czekaj in the 23.

The Blues will be looking to get back to winning ways and take on an Ospreys side that have won their last two games in the RaboDirect PRO12 against Leinster and Treviso.

Speaking ahead of the match Cardiff Blues Backs Coach, Gareth Baber, said:

“This weekend’s match is sure to be another heated Welsh derby with the Ospreys looking to get a win that will keep them in the top two of the RaboDirect PRO12 table.”

“Knowing this and the frustration from not having a long run of wins behind us has really motivated the team this week to play a good game.”

“The Ospreys have a great group of players and we know it will be a tough battle.”

“However, we will be looking for a big response from the Blues players.”

At Cardiff City Stadium, 6.30pm.
Tickets for the match cost just £22 for adults and £10 for under 16's. Tickets can be purchased online at
15 Leigh Halfpenny 14 Alex Cuthbert 13 Gavin Evans12 Dafydd Hewitt 11 Harry Robinson 10 Ceri Sweeney 9 Lloyd Williams

8 Luke Hamilton 7 Martyn Williams 6 Michael Paterson 5 James Down 4 Bradley Davies (c) 3 Sam Hobbs 2 Marc Breeze 1 John Yapp

16 Kristian Dacey 17 Nathan Trevett 18 Ryan Harford 19 Josh Navidi 20 Maama Molitika 21 Richie Rees 22 Dan Parks 23 Casey Laulala

Not available for selection

Gethin Jenkins - shoulder
Tom James – neck
Xavier Rush - neck
Ryan Tyrrel - neck
Jamie Roberts - knee
Sam Warburton - shoulder
T Rhys Thomas - neck
Paul Tito - head
Richard Mustoe - hip
Fau Filise – shoulder

Andries Pretorius - knee
Deiniol Jones – shoulders