Blog Banner

Wilkins and Johnes retain places to face Canada

21st November 2018

Cardiff Blues' Robyn Wilkins and Manon Johnes have retained their starting spots for Wales Women's final autumn Test against Canada on Saturday at Cardiff Arms Park.

Rowland Phillips' side will face the current world number four side on the back of impressive victories over South Africa and Hong Kong, and will be looking to complete an autumn clean sweep at the home of Cardiff Blues.

The head coach has made a total of five changes, with Ospreys quartet Carys Phillips, Amy Evans, Siwan Lillicrap and Keira Bevan called into the starting XV alongside Dragons' Caryl Thomas.

Wilkins has been ever-present in the 10 jersey for the autumn series, while Johnes made her debut as a replacement in the opening clash against Springboks.

Phillips said: "There's a huge excitement in the camp about representing Wales against one of the best female teams in the world.

"We lost twice to Canada in the World Cup last year but we have taken positive steps to improve following that experience. I know our conditioning and skills are better and this is an outstanding opportunity to test ourselves and get a clear indication of where we lie as a team.

"We have used a small squad during these November games which has allowed us to expose a number of players to international rugby and build momentum going into the Six Nations.

"We knew South Africa would be physical, we were pleased with the rugby we put together against Hong Kong, but Canada was always going to be the toughest test. Having watched them against England on the weekend, they pose threats across the pitch. They are big athletes and play a fast game with width.

"To get better, we want to play the top teams and we're looking forward to this challenge."

Tickets £5 for adults, all concessions including students and senior tickets £1, available from Cardiff Blues ticket office

Wales Women v Canada (Saturday 24 November, 11.30am, Cardiff Arms Park): Lauren Smyth (Ospreys); Jasmine Joyce (Scarlets), Alecs Donnovan (Ospreys), Alicia McComish (Dragons), Lisa Neumann (RGC); Robyn Wilkins (Cardiff Blues), Keira Bevan(Ospreys); Caryl Thomas (Dragons), Carys Phillips (capt, Ospreys), Amy Evans (Ospreys), Siwan Lillicrap (Ospreys), Mel Clay (Ospreys), Manon Johnes (Cardiff Blues), Bethan Lewis (Dragons), Sioned Harries (Scarlets)
Replacements: Kelsey Jones (Ospreys), Cara Hope (Ospreys), Cerys Hale (Dragons), Natalia John (Ospreys), Gwen Crabb (Ospreys), Ffion Lewis (Scarlets); Hannah Jones (Scarlets) Jess Kavanagh (RGC)