Blog Banner

Wales seven heaven for Cardiff Blues

10th May 2016

Seven Cardiff Blues players have been included in Warren Gatland's Wales squad to take on England and New Zealand this summer.

Sam Warburton continues as captain and he is joined by regional teammates Gethin Jenkins, Kristian Dacey, Josh Turnbull, Lloyd Williams, Gareth Anscombe and Tom James.

BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park-bound Matthew Morgan is also named in the 35-man party.

"We have picked a squad that is packed full of experience for what is going to be a challenging, but exciting five match campaign," said Gatland.

"We will be facing the Six Nations Champions at Twickenham first up and that will be an important start to the tour and will set the tone for the weeks ahead. 

"We will have a bit of time together when we land in New Zealand before the first Test then its into three Test matches against the All Blacks plus a midweek match against the Chiefs.

"It is a great opportunity for us to test ourselves, build on the World Cup and the Six Nations and it's a challenge we are all looking forward to.

"We are in a great position in terms of the experience in the squad especially when you look at the age of most of the players and this is going to be another important summer."


FORWARDS: Rob Evans (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Paul James (Ospreys) Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), James King (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester), Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT).

BACKS: Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), Matthew Morgan (Bristol), Tom James (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Eli Walker (Ospreys), Liam Williams (Scarlets).

Wales Fixtures: (All times local)
England v Wales, Sunday May 29, Twickenham, KO 15:00
New Zealand v Wales, Saturday June 11, Auckland, KO 19:35
Chiefs v Wales, Tuesday June 14, Hamilton, KO 18:35
New Zealand v Wales, Saturday June 18, Wellington, KO 19:35
New Zealand v Wales, Saturday June 25, Dunedin, KO 19:35