Cardiff Blues 11 - 12 London Irish
Sun 15 November 13:45 Cardiff City Stadium Att: 7,778 Ref: JP Doyle Anglo Welsh Cup

Cardiff Blues v London Irish team news.

Fri 13 Nov 2009 11:33 Cardiff Blues v London Irish team news.
Cardiff Blues v London Irish
Cardiff City Stadium, Sunday 15 November 1.45pm

In celebration of this week's visitors London Irish, the Blues have set up their very own Irish quarter open to all fans, home and visiting.

The Irish quarter which all supporters will be able to enter via gate 7, looks set be popular with home and away fans alike with plenty of fantastic entertainment including music from 'Peel your own spuds' and Irish dancing by the O'Donnel school of dance, and of course any Irish experience wouldn't be complete without a Guinness. The Guinness bar will be open from 12pm.

The fun kicks off at the Irish quarter at 12pm with entertainment right up until just before kick off at 1.30pm.

Match tickets are priced at only £1 for children and the kids for a quid promotion has already proved popular with younger fans. Brynmenyn Primary School children have been hard at work making decorations for the Irish quarter.

Tickets for the match are still available, priced at £20 for adults and just £1 for juniors. Tickets are available online, by phone on 0845 345 1400 and in person at the Cardiff City Stadium ticket office.

The Blues have won three of their last four games at the Cardiff City Stadium and have won all six previous home matches they have played in the history of the Anglo-Welsh Cup.

Speaking ahead of the match Cardiff Blues Director of Rugby, David Young said,

“Last Sunday’s result was obviously pleasing but especially the manner of it. The players showed a great attitude and commitment.”

“London Irish will be an equally stern test for us.”

“They are positioned second in the Guinness Premiership, after a run of four wins on the trot and having won five of their seven opening matches in that tournament.”

“They play an attractive brand of rugby but can mix it with the best of them when they have to as they demonstrated when they beat the reigning Heineken Cup holders Leinster over in Dublin.”

15 Sam Norton-Knight 14 Richard Mustoe 13 Gareth Thomas 12 Dafydd Hewitt 11 Chris Czekaj 10 Ceri Sweeney 9 Richie Rees

1Taufa’ao Filise 2 Gareth Williams 3 Gary Powell 4 Deiniol Jones 5 Scott Morgan 6 Ben White 7 Josh Navidi 8 Xavier Rush (Captain)

16 T Rhys Thomas 17 Sam Hobbs 18 Scott Andrews 19 James Down 20 Chris Dicomidis 21 Darren Allinson 22 Gavin Evans 23 Ben Blair