Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow Warriors
Sun 14 September 16:00 Cardiff Arms Park Att: 6,897 Ref: John Lacey Pro12

All Blacks ace Hoeata to make debut

Fri 12 Sep 2014 11:55 All Blacks ace Hoeata to make debut
Second row enforcer Hoeata, a summer recruit from the Highlanders in Super Rugby, is one of three changes made by Director of Rugby Mark Hammett.

Former Wales Sevens captain Adam Thomas, who previously represented Blues in 2011 in the LV=Cup, makes his first start of the season at full back, with Dan Fish moving to the wing.

Scrum half Lewis Jones comes into the starting line-up to join Rhys Patchell, who shone with 21 points in the victory over Zebre last weekend, to form a new-look half back partnership.

Powerhouse prop Taufa’ao Filise makes a return among the replacements alongside Richard Smith.

Scott Andrews is also named on the bench and if he features will make his 100th appearance for Cardiff Blues.

Director of Rugby Mark Hammett said: “All the players and backroom team are excited about launching our home campaign as we look to build on an encouraging victory over Zebre in Italy last Sunday.

“It’s important we make our home a tough place for the opposition to visit this season. Turning your home into a real fortress is always your goal.

“As an entire squad we have got to buy into that ethos and ambition. We go out and leave everything on the pitch and nothing to chance.

“Glasgow were exceptional on the first weekend and I felt should have won by a bigger margin at home to Leinster. It’s a big challenge for us, but it is one we are relishing as we look to build on last weekend’s game in Italy.”

Tickets remain on sale NOW for our big Super Sunday opener with Glasgow Warriors in the Guinness PRO12. Call the Ticket Office on 02920 302030 or click HERE to buy online. Tickets will be on sale Saturday and on match day right up until kick-off.

Cardiff Blues: 15 Adam Thomas, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Cory Allen, 12 Gavin Evans, 11 Dan Fish, 10 Rhys Patchell, 9 Lewis Jones; 1 Sam Hobbs, 2 Matthew Rees (c), 3 Adam Jones, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 5 Filo Paulo, 6 Josh Turnbull, 7 Sam Warburton, 8 Manoa Vosawai

Replacements: 16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Taufa’ao Filise, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Macauley Cook, 20 Josh Navidi, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Gareth Davies, 23 Richard Smith