Benetton Rugby 26 - 26 Cardiff Blues
Sat 30 November 17:00 Stadio Monigo Att: 3,351 Ref: Leo Colgan Pro12

Jenkins at the double in Treviso

Fri 29 Nov 2013 11:44 Jenkins at the double in Treviso
Wales Sevens and Wales Under-21s winger Owen Jenkins is set to make this first appearance for Blues while Wales Under-20s captain Ellis Jenkins is called up at openside flanker.

Director of Rugby Phil Davies makes a total of six changes to the side that was defeated by Munster.
Hooker Rhys Williams makes his first start of the season and Filo Paulo returns in the second row after international duty with Samoa. Macauley Cook moves into the back row.

Fly half Gareth Davies returns to the starting line-up and Dan Fish is fit again to take his place at full back.
Prop Scott Andrews misses the game through injury and scrum half Lloyd Williams with illness after returning from Wales duty.

Treviso have a fine home record in the RaboDirect PRO12 and defeat to Leinster last Sunday was only their second home loss in the tournament since November 2012, whilst they have secured at least one league point form each of their last 11 games at Stadio Monigo.

However, Blues record in Italy in all tournaments is an impressive won eight and lost one and Davies is looking for his side to respond after the disappointment of home defeat to Munster.

“We played some good rugby in the first 20 minutes against Munster, then we switched off at end of the half and they were very clinical,” said Davies.

“With the quality of players they had they took the chances. There are periods of time in each game where we seem to switch off and the opposition capitalise. We only missed 8 tackles in the game, which is lowest this season, but four cost us points.

“We came back in the second half and played reasonably well. Now we have to build on that in Italy. We are working hard and it’s about building the experience up in a young squad to become a better team.”

Cardiff Blues: 15 Dan Fish, 14 Owen Jenkins, 13 Richard Smith, 12 Dafydd Hewitt, 11 Chris Czekaj, 10 Gareth Davies, 9 Lewis Jones; 1 Sam Hobbs (c), 2 Rhys Williams, 3 Taufa’ao Filise, 4 James Down, 5 Filo Paulo, 6 Macauley Cook, 7 Ellis Jenkins, 8 Robin Copeland.

Replacements: 16 Marc Breeze, 17 Thomas Davies, 18 Benoit Bourrust, 19 Rory Watts-Jones, 20 Luke Hamilton, 21 Thomas Young, 22 Tomos Williams, 23 Simon Humberstone