Blog Banner

Wilson congratulates Wales seven

10th May 2016

Danny Wilson reckons Cardiff Blues' seven man representation in Wales' summer squad is a reflection of the region's form in the Guinness PRO12.

Sam Warburton captains the 35-man squad which also includes Gethin Jenkins, Kristian Dacey, Josh Turnbull, Sam Warburton, Lloyd Williams, Gareth Anscombe and Tom James.

All seven have been in fine form for Wales Capital Region, who turned around their season with 10 victories in their last 14 league encounters.

Wilson said: “It’s great to have seven boys included in the Wales squad. It’s a reflection of the hard work they have put in and their individual performances in a Cardiff Blues jersey.

“It is well deserved and our best wishes go to all the players on the tour to New Zealand.”

Matthew Morgan who arrives at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park from Bristol in the summer is also included.

FORWARDS: Rob Evans (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Paul James (Ospreys) Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), James King (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester), Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT).

BACKS: Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), Matthew Morgan (Bristol), Tom James (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Eli Walker (Ospreys), Liam Williams (Scarlets).