Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues make two changes for Edinburgh

23rd February 2017

Cardiff Blues have made two changes for their Guinness PRO12 clash with Edinburgh at Myreside on Friday night (7.05pm).

Danny Wilson’s side claimed a bonus-point victory over Benetton Treviso last weekend and the majority remain in the starting line-up.

Wilson has made two changes, with Tom James making his first start of 2017 and Anton Peikrishvili coming into the front-row.

The Blues are currently eight points off the top six and have targeted three wins from the current block of four Championship matches.

And with two games left, Wilson insists his side have to triumph in the Scottish capital to keep their hopes intact.

He said: “The top six has to be our goal, we got five points on the weekend and we know from this block of four games we need to win three to give ourselves any opportunity and four out of four in an ideal world. 

“Obviously the Connacht game didn’t go to plan and we have to win the next two games to have any chance. 

“We proved at the start of the year with consistency of squad selection, and players we’ve recruited, being available to us that we can beat anyone on our day.”

With Sam Warburton on Wales duty and both Josh Navidi and Ellis Jenkins on the sidelines, Sion Bennett, who scored a try on his first start last weekend, remains in the number seven jersey. Kirby Myhill covers the back-row from the replacements bench.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Alex Cuthbert, Willis Halaholo, Steve Shingler, Tom James; Gareth Anscombe, Lloyd Williams; Rhys Gill, Kristian Dacey, Anton Peikrishvili, George Earle, Jarrad Hoeata, Macauley Cook, Josh Sion Bennett, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Matthew Rees, Corey Domachowski, Scott Andrews, James Down, Kirby Myhill, Tomos Williams, Garyn Smith, Aled Summerhill.

The following players were unavailable for selection:
Rey Lee-Lo
Brad Thyer
Josh Turnbull
Lewis Jones
Dan Fish
Dillon Lewis
Ellis Jenkins
Gethin Jenkins
Blaine Scully
Josh Navidi